Business trip

I was in Kaihin Makuhari last week on business and stayed at a seminar centre there.  It was a nice enough place, although the meals were a bit strange.  Breakfast was done buffet style.  The first day at breakfast, they had fried chicken.  That’s a first.  The second day they had meatballs.  Another first.  Stranger yet was how for dinner we would get western style dishes, served on plates, with the whole table setting looking very western, but would have a bowl of rice and only chopsticks for the main course.  Forks and spoons were provided for soup and dessert, though.  Unfortunately, one main dish had mashed potatoes, and we had to use chopsticks to get at it.  I ended up using my soup spoon in the end.  Also, apart from butter knives at breakfast, I never saw a knife here, only spoons, forks and chopsticks, despite all the western meals on plates.

There’s an outlet mall in Kaihin Makuhari, and I had a quick look around on the first day.   I saw some great trainers at the Adidas store, but unfortunately not available in my size.  Darn it.  That always happens.  Also had a quick look at the G-Shock store.  Nothing of notable interest there.  I did see some B-grade G-Shocks, though, which was interesting.  The prices weren’t that great – cheaper from places like Yodobashi.

Because of work, I couldn’t get out to the mall to have a proper look during the evenings before they closed, and I had to have all my meals at the facility with the client, so didn’t get the chance to eat at some of the great looking restaurants there.  Maybe next time.

This entry was posted in Clothing, Food & Drink, Watches, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment